News | PSR Student of the Year Award

Stop the Video




PSR Student of the Year Award

Wednesday, January 23, 2019

Anne Brown, now an Assistant Professor of Planning, Public Policy, and Management at the University of Oregon, is the 2019 recipient of the Pacific Southwest Region University Transportation Center (PSR) Student of the Year Award.

Brown’s research examines the intersection of equity, shared and innovative mobility, travel behavior, and transportation finance. Her recent work analyzes how and when people change their travel behavior, the false equivalency between being car-less and car-free, and how parking policy reform can increase the supply of affordable housing.

Currently, six months out from completing her PhD in Urban Planning at UCLA, Professor Brown has authored or co-authored 16 refereed journal articles and has seven more currently under review.

Brown’s dissertation, “Ridehail Revolution? Ridehail Travel and Equity in Los Angeles,”won the Barclay Gibbs Jones Award for the best PhD planning dissertation by the Association of Collegiate Schools of Planning (the highest honor given to planning doctoral students by the ACSP). Her research investigates the planning and equity implications of ridehail services such as Lyft, Uber, and taxis. Brown also published a top-of-the-fold, op-ed piece on her dissertation research in the Los Angeles Times this summer.

“Professor Brown filed the most remarkable and consequential dissertation that I have ever supervised,” said Brian Taylor, Professor of Urban Planning at UCLA. “Anne Brown is without question a future academic star in transportation policy and planning.”

“I am honored to receive the PSR Student of the Year Award,” said Brown, “and am particularly grateful to all the people whose advice and feedback supported my education and research.”

Brown will be officially presented with the PSR Student of the Year Award during the Transportation Research Board (TRB) Annual Meeting January 13-17, 2019 in Washington, D.C.

The Council for University Transportation Center (CUTC) also awarded the 2018 Charley V. Wootan Memorial Award for the best doctoral dissertation to Brown and she will be recognized at the CUTC Annual Awards Banquet, held in Washington, DC on Saturday, January 12th, 2019.