News | Andreas Molisch Wins IEEE ComSoc Award

Stop the Video




Andreas Molisch Wins IEEE ComSoc Award

Saturday, April 27, 2019

by By: Adylbek Abdykalikov, USC, IPPAM 2020

Dr. Andreas Molisch, Professor of Electrical Engineering at USC Viterbi School of Engineering won the 2018 IEEE Communications Society’s Edwin H. Armstrong Achievement Award. The Technical Achievement Award was presented to Dr. Molisch for his “pioneering contributions to wireless channel measurement and modeling and spectrally efficient wireless transmission techniques.” This includes research that was funded by METRANS Transportation Center.

IEEE Communications Society, a professional engineering organization with more than 27 000 members in 140 countries, presents the award each year in recognition of outstanding contributions in the field. It is named in honor of Edwin H. Armstrong, the inventor and father of the complete FM radio system. The award was first presented in 1958, and only the members of the IEEE ComSoc can receive it.

Molisch is an esteemed professor who holds the Solomon Golomb – Andrew and Erna Viterbi Chair at USC. Before joining USC in 2009, he was with the Wireless Systems Research Department at AT&T (Bell) Laboratories Research in Middletown, NJ. He also has experience working with Mitsubishi Electric Research Labs in Cambridge, MA, most recently as Distinguished Member of Technical Staff and Chief Wireless Standards Architect, and concurrently served as Professor and Chairholder for radio systems at Lund University in Sweden.

Molisch has authored, coauthored, and edited four books, 19 book chapters, more than 220 journal papers, and over 300 conference papers. He also has in excess of 80 patents for his work. Many of his inventions have been adopted into international standards.

Molisch has conducted research in the areas of SAW filters, radiative transfer in atomic vapors, atomic line filters, smart antennas, wideband systems, and cooperative communications. His current research interests include the measurement and modeling of mobile radio channels, multi-antenna systems, UWB communication and localization, novel modulation/multiple access methods, and wireless video distribution.

Molisch is well known and highly recognized among engineering professionals. He is a Fellow of the IEEE, the National Academy of Inventors, the American Association for the Advancement of Science, and the Institute of Engineering and Technology, and is a member of the Austrian Academy of Sciences. Additional honors include the Eric Sumner Award of the IEEE, IET Achievement Medal, James Evans Avant-Garde Award of the IEEE Vehicular Technology Society, Neal Shephard Memorial Award of VTS, Donald G. Fink award of the IEEE, and Wireless Educator of the Year award from the Global Wireless Education Consortium.

Molisch has served IEEE in a variety of roles, including Chair of the Radio Communications Committee, Area Editor for the IEEE Transactions on Wireless Communications, Division Editor for the Journal of Communications and Networking, Guest Editor for the Proceedings of the IEEE and IEEE JSAC, and General Chair, Technical Program Committee Chair, or Symposium Chair of multiple international conferences. He has also been Chairman of various international standardization groups.

METRANS Transportation Center is delighted to continue to support Dr. Molisch’s research and wishes to congratulate him on receiving this honorable award for such success in his career.

About the Author:

Adylbek Abdykalikov is a graduate student of International Public Policy and Management Program at USC Price. He has working experience in various positions at the Ministries of Transport and Communication and Investment and Development of Kazakhstan and was in charge of Transportation and Civil Aviation policy development and implementation.